发表时间: 2009年1月5日 17:43 GMT | 跟帖编号:166191 +0-0 |
Anatoly Zolotkov
母语:俄语 注册日期:2002年8月1日 所在地:加拿大 |
Cybersquatters
Click TranslatorsCafe.org and you will see. Cybersquatting (also known as domain squatting), according to the United States federal law known as the Anticybersquatting Consumer Protection Act, is registering, trafficking in, or using a domain name with bad faith intent to profit from the goodwill of a trademark belonging to someone else. The cybersquatter then offers to sell the domain to the person or company who owns a trademark contained within the name at an inflated price. (From Wikipedia). 
(http://whois.domaintools.com/translatorscafe.org) Hall of Fame and Shame record about the registrant of this domain name Anatoly
[最后由Anatoly Zolotkov于2009年1月5日 18:37编辑]
附件:Untitled-3.gif(35 KB - 已下载 731 次)
|
直接回复
| 引用回复
| 编辑
|
发表时间: 2009年1月6日 3:51 GMT | 跟帖编号:166213(回复编号为166191的跟帖) +0-0 |
Laurent J Krauland
母语:德语, 法语 注册日期:2007年8月9日 所在地:法国 |
RE: Cybersquatters
Hello, Anatoly.
I hardly cannot think that the owner of more than 31 domain names [*] (... I have enough with 2!) being also the owner of a "multi-location" - Germany, United Kingdom, China - and blacklisted translation agency is more than a mere coincidence.
Thanks for revealing us these facts, at least we now know that we are not only dealing with a bad payer, but also and generally speaking with a person whose bad faith goes through and through!
Laurent K.
PS: did you also notice that one of his domain names is "xxxxx-CON.com", in this case the name tells it all .
[*] among those some curiously dealing with the translation industry and cloning the layout and/or the name of TC...
[最后由Laurent J Krauland于2009年1月6日 5:09编辑]
|
直接回复
| 引用回复
| 编辑
| 删除
|
发表时间: 2009年1月6日 8:12 GMT | 跟帖编号:166235(回复编号为166191的跟帖) +0-0 |
d f TC高级会员
母语:法语 注册日期:2004年10月31日 所在地:法国 |
RE: Cybersquatters
Hi Anatoly I don't understand (but then I'm rather illiterate when it comes to understanding how the WWW actually works!)... how can this guy legally use the same name (albeit with an .org rather than .com suffix)? Surely you've registered it as your own? And can such people be stopped?? Happy New Year, Anatoly! And thank you for keeping up with TC where many of us feel very much at home. dominique (bumping up this thread to update exposure)
|
直接回复
| 引用回复
| 编辑
| 删除
|
发表时间: 2009年1月6日 8:56 GMT | 跟帖编号:166238(回复编号为166235的跟帖) +0-0 |
Anatoly Zolotkov
母语:俄语 注册日期:2002年8月1日 所在地:加拿大 |
RE: Cybersquatters
Hi Dominique,
Thank you. It is legal. It is called "business". When I started this site, I was supposed to purchase all possible domain names like translatorscafe.ca, translatorscafe.biz, translatorscafe.ogr, etc. I preferred to do development instead. And I am not in a position to start feeding lawyers or to spend my own time on preparing the necessary documents for ICANN to take this domain name back from the sybersquatters. I made this posting because several outsourcers filed complaints explaining that they posted jobs on TC and soon started getting messages about those jobs from users of TranslatorPub.com (also TranslatorsPub.com). In their complaints they demanded to do something about it. This posting is my response to their complaints.
Anatoly
[最后由Anatoly Zolotkov于2009年6月17日 14:02编辑]
|
直接回复
| 引用回复
| 编辑
| 删除
|
发表时间: 2009年1月6日 10:11 GMT | 跟帖编号:166247(回复编号为166238的跟帖) +0-0 |
d f TC高级会员
母语:法语 注册日期:2004年10月31日 所在地:法国 |
RE: Cybersquatters
thanks for your explanations Anatoly, now I understand a little better. So in addition to stealing the name, the man also steals content from this site and its users, if I understand right! Is there anything we (TC members and visitors) can do about it, aside from spreading the word about this guy and his site and just hoping that "what goes around, comes around" and that "we reap what we sow"? df
[最后由d f于2009年1月6日 10:13编辑]
|
直接回复
| 引用回复
| 编辑
| 删除
|
发表时间: 2009年9月26日 9:18 GMT | 跟帖编号:185527(回复编号为166238的跟帖) +0-0 |
Jane Lamb-Ruiz TC高级会员
母语:英语 注册日期:2002年11月2日 所在地:美国 |
RE: Cybersquatters
Hello Anatoly,
I am still not getting it. Does this mean that if a site registers one name (A) with Dot Com (AName.com) , and another with your name (YourName.biz) under a Dot Something that you did not register, the queries to the AName.Dot Com also go to the YourName.biz or whatever comes after the Dot? That is outrageous.
Well, that's terrible. Anyway, I'd happy to volunteer to do the paperwork for you. Just point me in the right direction.
Thanks for this notice.
Jane
|
直接回复
| 引用回复
| 编辑
| 删除
|
发表时间: 2009年9月26日 9:39 GMT | 跟帖编号:185530(回复编号为185527的跟帖) +0-0 |
Anatoly Zolotkov
母语:俄语 注册日期:2002年8月1日 所在地:加拿大 |
RE: Cybersquatters
Hi Jane,
Thank you. No, queries are not redirected. However, when people make mistakes and write translatorscafe.eu (check, this is also working) or translatorscafe.org instead of translatorscafe.com in the address line of the browser, they will be redirected to the cybersquatter’s site.
Anatoly
|
直接回复
| 引用回复
| 编辑
| 删除
|
发表时间: 2009年9月26日 11:02 GMT | 跟帖编号:185533(回复编号为166191的跟帖) +0-0 |
Harry Bornemann
Expert       母语: 德语发帖数:1373注册日期:2002年12月31日 所在地:墨西哥 (removed) |
RE: Cybersquatters
Hi Anatoly,
Besides being angry, don't you feel a little bit flattered? He could also have chosen from many available proz.xxy domains..
I remember when Henry called you - among others - a "copy cat", although you always differed by:
- your layout,
- your site name, and
- the much appreciated fact that free speech has never been a taboo here.
This plagiarist just went one or two steps further, but I agree that he went too far. According to German law he could be prosecuted at the moment, but he would only have to change some details to get back to the legal side (which would not save him from having to pay a fine of some thousand EUR, though).
Anyway, I am in Germany (Bonn) until end of October and will be happy to help you where I can.
Harry
BTW, a simpler and more productive way to exert pressure could be to coordinate all of the open payment claims registered here and elsewhere against that company.. 
[最后由Harry Bornemann于2009年9月26日 11:32编辑]
|
直接回复
| 引用回复
| 编辑
| 删除
|