Posted: Friday, May 19, 2006 07:07 | Post #88330 |
Nikita Kobrin TC Master
 Expert  Mother tongue: RussianPosts: 5018Joined: Friday, November 29, 2002 Location: Lithuania | TranslationZone.com, TRADOS Corporation’s web site: be careful! Dear colleagues, At TranslationZone.com (TRADOS Corporation’s web site) they've got a Translator Directory that contains thousands of profiles created by translators from around the world. I also registered there on 02.03.2005. Everything was OK until the beginning of the current month when I started to get regular daily spam messages coming to the email address which I used for registering with TranslationZone.com. I'm very careful with spam issues and that address at the moment is the only one at which spam messages come to me. I don't think that they are so malicious at the TRADOS Corporation’s web site that they sell translators' addresses to spammers. I suppose they are simply very careless concerning IT security and privacy of the TranslationZone.com member's data. I believe it's a shame for such a famous company as TRADOS Corporation! My recommendation: If you want to register at TranslationZone.com never use one of your main email addresses. NK
|
Reply| Quote| Edit |
Posted: Friday, May 19, 2006 08:48 | Post #88346—in reply to #88330 |
Terry Waltz, Ph.D.
 Expert    Mother tongue: EnglishPosts: 1538Joined: Saturday, June 28, 2003 Location: United States | RE: TranslationZone.com, TRADOS Corporation’s web site: be careful! Wow, I think you've put your finger on my problem! I too have been being bombarded by spam since about the beginning of this month. Over I go to de-register from their site. (Actually, I no longer use Tra*** anyway, having switched to the cheaper and far superior MetaTexis, but since MetaTexis can read and write Tra*** memories, I can still handle jobs that request it.)
|
Reply| Quote| Edit| Delete |
Posted: Friday, May 19, 2006 12:55 | Post #88376—in reply to #88330 |
Harry Bornemann
 Expert       Mother tongue: GermanPosts: 1373Joined: Tuesday, December 31, 2002 Location: Mexico (removed) | RE: TranslationZone.com, TRADOS Corporation’s web site: be careful!
Thanks for the hint, Nikita.
I registered there 4 years ago and since then I only received 2 or 3 job offers, which some people would classify as spam.. 
Now I emptied and hid my TranslationZone.com profile because I found no way to delete it.
Harry
|
Reply| Quote| Edit| Delete |
Posted: Friday, May 19, 2006 13:14 | Post #88377—in reply to #88346 |
Paweł Pachnik TC Master
 Member Mother tongue: PolishPosts: 18Joined: Friday, June 17, 2005 Location: Poland | RE: TranslationZone.com, TRADOS Corporation’s web site: be careful!
Originally written by Terry Thatcher Waltz, Ph.D. on May 19, 2006 3:48 PM
Wow, I think you've put your finger on my problem! I too have been being bombarded by spam since about the beginning of this month. |
I also want to thank you. Now I know why spammers have my SMS notification enabled address. It's so bad to receive fake notifications during the night .
Regards, Paweł
|
Reply| Quote| Edit| Delete |
Posted: Wednesday, May 31, 2006 05:23 | Post #89019—in reply to #88377 |
Laura Lombardini
 Member Mother tongue: EnglishPosts: 9Joined: Wednesday, May 31, 2006 Location: Germany | RE: TranslationZone.com, TRADOS Corporation’s web site: be careful!
Originally written by Paweł Pachnik on May 19, 2006 1:14 PM
Originally written by Terry Thatcher Waltz, Ph.D. on May 19, 2006 3:48 PM
Wow, I think you've put your finger on my problem! I too have been being bombarded by spam since about the beginning of this month. |
I also want to thank you. Now I know why spammers have my SMS notification enabled address. It's so bad to receive fake notifications during the night .
Regards, Paweł
|
Thanks a lot for the advice. I de-registered and my spam-problem was sorted....
|
Reply| Quote| Edit| Delete |
Posted: Sunday, March 04, 2007 02:25 | Post #112052—in reply to #88330 |
Nikita Kobrin TC Master
 Expert  Mother tongue: RussianPosts: 5018Joined: Friday, November 29, 2002 Location: Lithuania | RE: TranslationZone.com, TRADOS Corporation’s web site: be careful! Below is the latest piece of 'indispensable' information I receiveved thanks to registering at TranslationZone.com (Thank you, Trados!): | Hi friend - >Do you have a product or service to sell? >Are you getting tired of promoting and getting nowhere? >Are you interested in increasing your sales by 1000%? >Are you sick of only getting counter offers in your inbox? >Are you looking for something with a money back guarantee? >Are you going from one safelist to another cutting & pasting your ads? If you've answered yes to any of these questions then the Solution has found YOU! What is the solution? Targeted email is the most direct and powerful method of marketing on the internet today. And, without having the guilt of spaamming. >> http://www.blpurl.com/g70 <<>> http://www.blpurl.com/g70 << - - - - - - Hi... I'm jumping for joy... Just my way of thanking you for your service... I started a internet business about a month ago..Since I'm disabled, I'm on a tight budget if you know what mean..I kept trying to advertize my website through free offers, but was just not getting anywhere... Then I found you people... Wow, what a difference a day makes...My hits starting to increase... and I'm not such a soarpuss all the time..Things are lookin up ...Keep up the good service... KEEP SMILING." Don Britton Nebraska, USA - - - - - - >> http://www.blpurl.com/g70 <<>> http://www.blpurl.com/g70 <<Regards, Havanna, S. P.S. To receive no more updates from me (TG Biz Group) about this service, simply send an email to tgbizgroup@netcityjp.com with "Go Away" on the subject line. 17QW Villa Namo, 6000 CB PH |
|
Reply| Quote| Edit| Delete |
Posted: Monday, March 05, 2007 00:10 | Post #112132—in reply to #88376 |
Andrea Riffo
 Member  Mother tongue: SpanishPosts: 42Joined: Friday, June 13, 2003 Location: Chile | RE: TranslationZone.com, TRADOS Corporation’s web site: be careful! Originally written by Harry Bornemann on May 19, 2006 2:55 PM
I registered there 4 years ago and since then I only received 2 or 3 job offers, which some people would classify as spam.. 
| =))
|
Reply| Quote| Edit| Delete |
Posted: Friday, March 09, 2007 17:16 | Post #112510—in reply to #88330 |
Laurens Landkroon
 Regular    Mother tongues: Dutch, EnglishPosts: 92Joined: Thursday, April 21, 2005 Location: Netherlands | RE: TranslationZone.com, TRADOS Corporation’s web site: be careful! I am still doubtful of Trados' intentions; after all, be ready to be "forced" to buy either an update or a "new" version every year; their main focus seems to make millions rather than provide a decent service............ 
Laurens.
|
Reply| Quote| Edit| Delete |
Posted: Thursday, April 19, 2007 04:47 | Post #115439—in reply to #88330 |
Marcelina Haftka
 Regular    Mother tongue: PolishPosts: 85Joined: Friday, February 16, 2007 Location: Poland | RE: TranslationZone.com, TRADOS Corporation’s web site: be careful! Originally written by Nikita Kobrin on May 19, 2006 7:07 AM
My recommendation: If you want to register at TranslationZone.com never use one of your main email addresses.
|
I have just read your recommendation. Too late for me... I had to give all my details when trying to download the trial version of SDL Trados. Trying without success - apparently my computer didn't and doesn't like this file. I wrote to their service department, I got an answer in Polish saying that I could write or call if I had problems. :D (I just love such answers!) The next day I received a message about a Trados webinar. For the moment these are the only two e-mails I got... I think I will have to wait a little bit to see my mailbox stuffed with some interesting spam. 
|
Reply| Quote| Edit| Delete |
Posted: Thursday, June 07, 2007 13:28 | Post #118860—in reply to #88330 |
Sharon Pinelli
New User Posts: 3Joined: Thursday, June 07, 2007 Location: United Kingdom | RE: TranslationZone.com, TRADOS Corporation’s web site: be careful! Dear Professional Translators, I would like to apologise on behalf of SDL TRADOS for the problems caused by the directory on Translationzone.com. I can assure all members that we have not and do not sell our database on to any agencies. It would appear that spammers have managed to download the data from our search results within the directory. Our technicians have now been made aware of this issue and are working towards increasing our security in the way our data is presented so as to increase members' privacy. We hope to have this issue resolved as quickly as possible and will alert you when the directory has been updated. Kind regards Sharon Pinelli e-business coordinator SDL TRADOS Technologies
|
Reply| Quote| Edit| Delete |