Home Home Home
Home
Translation Jobs
Hide Panels
Members Log On

User Name

Password
Click to get help
Site Language
ENEnglish (English)
Forums
You are currently browsing as a guest. Please log on to access more features.
Moderators
Nikita Kobrin
Message format
Thread information
Last Activity July 21, 2010 3:16 PM

6 replies
3305 viewings

Site Search
Notification

Toggle e-mail notification

XML RSS Feed
Recommend Us
stumbleupon|digg|del.icio.us|reddit|facebook
Legend
Posted Messages:
5000 5000
2000 2000
1000 1000
500 500
100 100
25 25
Colour Coding:
  • Administrator
  • Forum Moderator
  • Registered User
He said: The prayer of you both has indeed been accepted, therefore continue in the right way and do not follow the path of those who do not know. (Jonah 10.89quran quote
Page: 1
Back Reply
« Thread »
Posted:
February 16, 2005 11:33 PM
Post #53275
Maxi Schwarz-Bastami
Expert
500020001000100100100100252525
Mother tongues: English, German
Posts: 8481
Joined: September 26, 2003
Location: Canada
 
TenSpot - It pays to have friends

Does anyone know anything about this "opportunity to win $10,000,000 and sign up a friend" deal?  Is there any chance that it's a propagating worm that sends out e-mails on one's behalf without one's knowledge?

Maxi 



[Edited by Nikita Kobrin on March 22, 2005 9:30 PM]

Reply|Quote|Edit
Posted:
March 21, 2005 5:42 PM
Post #55206—in reply to #53275
Jim Garvey
New User

Posts: 1
Joined: March 21, 2005
Location: United States
 
RE: Tenspot
www.Tenspot.com a real contest. They also give away $1,000 a week -- my buddy Cody won a few weeks ago.
Reply|Quote|Edit|Delete
Posted:
March 22, 2005 5:34 PM
Post #55326—in reply to #53275
Nikita Kobrin
TC Master
Photo
Expert
200020005001001001001002525
Mother tongue: Russian
Posts: 4963
Joined: November 29, 2002
Location: Lithuania
 
RE: Tenspot

As some doctors sometime do I have decided to make a heroic sacrifice and try everything on myself: I went to Tenspot.com and registered there.

As a result I have already received two messages of the following kind:


This special offer is brought to you as a valued member of ExclusiveRewards.com. Please see below to unsubscribe.


ExclusiveRewards.com is a registered trademark of MetaReward, Inc. All other product and service names mentioned may be trademarks of their respective owners. You are receiving this email because you signed up for ExclusiveRewards. You can unsubscribe by clicking here. Mailing address: ExclusiveRewards Customer Service, 751 Laurel Street, Suite 215, San Carlos, CA 94070.


One may ask how I know it came via Tenspot.com? I'm not going to explain it here but believe me I know how to trace it and I'm 100% sure it came if not from then via Tenspot.com.

I suppose this is just the very first stage of my "opportunity to win $10,000,000" but I definitely won't "sign up a friend". My ranting about 'heroic sacrifice' above is just a joke: I simply do know perfectly well how to deal with all those Tenspot.coms and there's no risk for me but many of my friends don't know it. I can prevent these marketeers from contacting me at any moment but many of my friends can't do it and thus their email-boxes will be flooded with spam from Tenspot.com forever.

The one and only purpose of Tenspot.com and similar 'real contests' is to fish out your name, email address, phone number, etc.

In the ad above there's the following phrase: "You can unsubscribe by clicking here." NEVER do it: by clicking it you will only show the spammer that your email address is real and working and the quantity of spam you receive will be multiplied soon.

NK

P.S. for Mr Jim Garvey:

Originally written by Jim Garvey on March 22, 2005 12:42 AM

www.Tenspot.com a real contest. They also give away $1,000 a week -- my buddy Cody won a few weeks ago.

Dear Mr Garvey,

There are only two options: you are either a very naive person or a trickster. Taking into consideration the mentioning of your lucky 'buddy Cody' I tend to think you are the latter... 



[Edited by Nikita Kobrin on March 22, 2005 9:55 PM]

Reply|Quote|Edit|Delete
Posted:
March 22, 2005 5:49 PM
Post #55328—in reply to #53275
Patrick Panifous
Photo
Mother tongue: French
Joined: February 12, 2003
Location: France
 
RE: Tenspot
Hi Nik,

Judging by this person's abundance of info on his profile, I would say the latter too.
Reply|Quote|Edit|Delete
Posted:
March 22, 2005 5:57 PM
Post #55329—in reply to #53275
Nikita Kobrin
TC Master
Photo
Expert
200020005001001001001002525
Mother tongue: Russian
Posts: 4963
Joined: November 29, 2002
Location: Lithuania
 
TenSpot - It pays to have friends

Hi folks,

It's me again with some updates.

Several minutes ago I was happy to receive my third today's message of the 'Earn a degree in 10 months from AIU Online!' kind from Tenspot.com.

But that's not all: I have to add some interesting details to the story about Mr Garvey and his bosom buddy Cody.

It turned out that Mr Garvey's email address ends with @jtllc.com. As jtllc.com isn't Hotmail, Yahoo or any other free webmail service ready available to anybody we can quite naturally presume that a person who uses a corporate email address has something to do with the website this address is originated from. So let's go and see what www.jtllc.com is and what the connection there is between Mr Garvey, the web site in question and our story.

On the home page of that web site we see the following:

 

Oh! What a surprise: we see the familiar 'real contest'! How unexpected! But now we can understand where Mr Garvey's enthusiasm concerning Tenspot.com comes from...

On the Portfolio page of www.jtllc.com we can see the following:

 

My compliments, Mr Garvey, on the great project in your portfolio. And please pass my warmest regards to your old buddy Cody...

NK



[Edited by Nikita Kobrin on March 23, 2005 4:56 AM]

Attached file : jtllc.com.gif (49 KB - 871 downloads)
Attached file : portfolio.gif (17 KB - 861 downloads)

Reply|Quote|Edit|Delete
Posted:
March 22, 2005 9:54 PM
Post #55335—in reply to #53275
Nikita Kobrin
TC Master
Photo
Expert
200020005001001001001002525
Mother tongue: Russian
Posts: 4963
Joined: November 29, 2002
Location: Lithuania
 
RE: TenSpot - It pays to have friends

A little update: I have already got 9 spam messages via Tenspot.com. And in all of them I did what I categorically don't recommend you to do: I've clicked the link to unsubscribe... out of educational interest... a sacrifice should be sacrificial...

NK


Reply|Quote|Edit|Delete
Posted:
March 22, 2005 11:11 PM
Post #55336—in reply to #55335
Adriana Caraccio Morgan, Dip Trans IOL
Photo
Extreme Veteran
100100100
Mother tongue: Brazilian Portuguese
Posts: 309
Joined: August 3, 2002
Location: Brazil
 
RE: TenSpot - It pays to have friends

Thanks for the sacrifice, Nik!

It pays to have friends!!!

Adriana


Reply|Quote|Edit|Delete
Page: 1
Back Reply
« Thread »
Home | Forums | Albums | Search
Recent threads | Today | This Week | Top 25
Forum Statistics | Who's Online | Random Quotes
New TC Mobile | Forum Settings | Log On
TranslatorsCafé.com

Site Language English (English) | Spanish (Español) | Italian (Italiano) | More...

Copyright © ANVICA Software Development 2002—2010. All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy. Terms and Conditions of Use. Use signifies your agreement.
Mail comments and suggestions to TranslatorsCafe.com webmaster
Directory of translators, interpreters and translation agencies.

Forums Disclaimer: The views expressed in the forums are those of the authors and are not necessarily the views of the site owner and/or moderators. If the reader considers a post to cause offence, then she or he should address a complaint to the moderator of the forum concerned. The complaint should be dealt with within 24 hours, but please respect the fact that the moderator may be living in a different time zone. Use of the forums signifies your agreement with the Forum Posting Rules.