Home Home Home
Home
Translation Jobs
Masquer les panneaux
Déjà membre ? Ouvrir une session

Nom d'utilisateur

Mot de passe
Cliquez ici pour obtenir de l’aide
Choisissez la langue du site
FRFR
ENEnglish
Forums
Vous êtes sur le site en tant qu'invité anonyme. Veuillez vous identifier pour accéder à davantage de fonctionnalités.
Modérateur(s)
Nikita Kobrin
Format de Message
Infos sur ce fil
Dernière intervention November 15, 2009 1:08 PM

7 réponse(s)
1016 vues

Recherche sur le site
Notification

Notification par e-mail (oui/non)

XML RSS Feed
Recommandez-nous
stumbleupon|digg|del.icio.us|reddit|facebook
Légende
Nombre de messages:
5000 5000
2000 2000
1000 1000
500 500
100 100
25 25
Code couleur:
  • Administrateur
  • Modérateur du forum
  • Utilisateur inscrit
Who’s Posting Answers on TranslatorsCafe.com/TCTerms
Je boirai du lait le jour où les vaches mangeront du raisin.Jean Gabin
Page: 1
Retour Répondre
« Discussion »
Publié le:
January 5, 2009 5:43 PM
Message n°166191
Anatoly Zolotkov
Photo
Langue maternelle: Russian
Membre depuis: August 1, 2002
Lieu: Canada
 
Cybersquatters

Click TranslatorsCafe.org and you will see.

Cybersquatting (also known as domain squatting), according to the United States federal law known as the Anticybersquatting Consumer Protection Act, is registering, trafficking in, or using a domain name with bad faith intent to profit from the goodwill of a trademark belonging to someone else. The cybersquatter then offers to sell the domain to the person or company who owns a trademark contained within the name at an inflated price. (From Wikipedia).

 

(http://whois.domaintools.com/translatorscafe.org)

Hall of Fame and Shame record about the registrant of this domain name

Anatoly



[Modifié par Anatoly Zolotkov - January 5, 2009 6:37 PM]

Fichier joint: Untitled-3.gif (35 Ko - 315 téléchargement(s)

Répondre|Citer|Modifier
Publié le:
January 6, 2009 3:51 AM
Message n°166213— en réponse au n°166191
Laurent J Krauland
TC Master
Photo
Langues maternelles: German, French
Membre depuis: August 9, 2007
Lieu: France
 
RE: Cybersquatters
Hello, Anatoly.

I hardly cannot think that the owner of more than 31 domain names [*] (... I have enough with 2!) being also the owner of a "multi-location" - Germany, United Kingdom, China - and blacklisted translation agency is more than a mere coincidence.

Thanks for revealing us these facts, at least we now know that we are not only dealing with a bad payer, but also and generally speaking with a person whose bad faith goes through and through!

Laurent K. 

PS: did you also notice that one of his domain names is "xxxxx-CON.com", in this case the name tells it all .

[*] among those some curiously dealing with the translation industry and cloning the layout and/or the name of TC...


[Modifié par Laurent J Krauland - January 6, 2009 5:09 AM]

Répondre|Citer|Modifier|Supprimer
Publié le:
January 6, 2009 8:12 AM
Message n°166235— en réponse au n°166191
dominique f.
Photo
Langue maternelle: French
Membre depuis: October 31, 2004
Lieu: France
 
RE: Cybersquatters
Originally written by Anatoly Zolotkov on January 5, 2009 11:43 PM

Click TranslatorsCafe.org and you will see.

Cybersquatting (also known as domain squatting), according to the United States federal law known as the Anticybersquatting Consumer Protection Act, is registering, trafficking in, or using a domain name with bad faith intent to profit from the goodwill of a trademark belonging to someone else. The cybersquatter then offers to sell the domain to the person or company who owns a trademark contained within the name at an inflated price. (From Wikipedia).

Hall of Fame and Shame record about the registrant of this domain name

Anatoly

Hi Anatoly

I don't understand (but then I'm rather illiterate when it comes to understanding how the WWW actually works!)... how can this guy legally use the same name (albeit with an .org rather than .com suffix)? Surely you've registered it as your own? And can such people be stopped??

Happy New Year, Anatoly! And thank you for keeping up with TC where many of us feel very much at home.

dominique (bumping up this thread to update exposure)


Répondre|Citer|Modifier|Supprimer
Publié le:
January 6, 2009 8:56 AM
Message n°166238— en réponse au n°166235
Anatoly Zolotkov
Photo
Langue maternelle: Russian
Membre depuis: August 1, 2002
Lieu: Canada
 
RE: Cybersquatters

Hi Dominique,

Thank you. It is legal. It is called "business". When I started this site, I was supposed to purchase all possible domain names like translatorscafe.ca, translatorscafe.biz, translatorscafe.ogr, etc. I preferred to do development instead. And I am not in a position to start feeding lawyers or to spend my own time on preparing the necessary documents for ICANN to take this domain name back from the sybersquatters. I made this posting because several outsourcers filed complaints explaining that they posted jobs on TC and soon started getting messages about those jobs from users of TranslatorPub.com (also TranslatorsPub.com). In their complaints they demanded to do something about it. This posting is my response to their complaints.

Anatoly



[Modifié par Anatoly Zolotkov - June 17, 2009 2:02 PM]

Répondre|Citer|Modifier|Supprimer
Publié le:
January 6, 2009 10:11 AM
Message n°166247— en réponse au n°166238
dominique f.
Photo
Langue maternelle: French
Membre depuis: October 31, 2004
Lieu: France
 
RE: Cybersquatters

thanks for your explanations Anatoly, now I understand a little better. So in addition to stealing the name, the man also steals content from this site and its users, if I understand right! Is there anything we (TC members and visitors) can do about it, aside from spreading the word about this guy and his site and just hoping that "what goes around, comes around" and that "we reap what we sow"?

df



[Modifié par dominique f. - January 6, 2009 10:13 AM]

Répondre|Citer|Modifier|Supprimer
Publié le:
September 26, 2009 9:18 AM
Message n°185527— en réponse au n°166238
Jane Lamb-Ruiz
TC Master
Photo
Langue maternelle: English
Membre depuis: November 2, 2002
Lieu: United States
 
RE: Cybersquatters

Hello Anatoly,

I am still not getting it. Does this mean that if a site registers one name (A) with Dot Com (AName.com) , and another with your name (YourName.biz) under a Dot Something that you did not register, the queries to the AName.Dot Com also go to the YourName.biz or whatever comes after the Dot? That is outrageous.

Well, that's terrible. Anyway, I'd happy to volunteer to do the paperwork for you. Just point me in the right direction.

Thanks for this notice.

 

Jane


Répondre|Citer|Modifier|Supprimer
Publié le:
September 26, 2009 9:39 AM
Message n°185530— en réponse au n°185527
Anatoly Zolotkov
Photo
Langue maternelle: Russian
Membre depuis: August 1, 2002
Lieu: Canada
 
RE: Cybersquatters

Hi Jane,

Thank you. No, queries are not redirected. However, when people make mistakes and write translatorscafe.eu (check, this is also working) or translatorscafe.org instead of translatorscafe.com in the address line of the browser, they will be redirected to the cybersquatter’s site.

Anatoly


Répondre|Citer|Modifier|Supprimer
Publié le:
September 26, 2009 11:02 AM
Message n°185533— en réponse au n°166191
Harry Bornemann
TC Master
Photo
Elite Veteran
50010010010025
Langue maternelle: German
Messages: 848
Membre depuis: December 31, 2002
Lieu: Mexico
 
RE: Cybersquatters

Hi Anatoly,

Besides being angry, don't you feel a little bit flattered?  He could also have chosen from many available proz.xxy domains..

I remember when Henry called you - among others - a "copy cat", although you always differed by:
- your layout,
- your site name, and
- the much appreciated fact that free speech has never been a taboo here. 

This plagiarist just went one or two steps further, but I agree that he went too far.  According to German law he could be prosecuted at the moment, but he would only have to change some details to get back to the legal side (which would not save him from having to pay a fine of some thousand EUR, though).

Anyway, I am in Germany (Bonn) until end of October and will be happy to help you where I can.

Harry

BTW, a simpler and more productive way to exert pressure could be to coordinate all of the open payment claims registered here and elsewhere against that company.. 



[Modifié par Harry Bornemann - September 26, 2009 11:32 AM]

Répondre|Citer|Modifier|Supprimer
Page: 1
Retour Répondre
« Discussion »
Page d’accueil | Forums | Albums | Recherche
Récemment | Aujourd'hui | Cette semaine | Top 25
Statistiques des forums | Qui est là ? | Citations au hasard
New TC Mobile | Paramètres forums | Connexion
TranslatorsCafé.com

Choisissez la langue du site English | Español | Autres...

Copyright © ANVICA Software Development 2002—2009. Tous droits réservés.
Protection de la vie privée. Termes et conditions d'utilisation. L'utilisation signifie que vous acceptez les termes et conditions.
Commentaires et suggestions par courriel au Webmaster de TranslatorsCafe.com
Annuaire de traducteurs, d'interprètes et d'agences de traduction.

Déni de responsabilité concernant les Forums : Les opinions exprimées sur les forums sont propres à leurs auteurs et ne reflètent pas nécessairement l'opinion du propriétaire du site et/ou des modérateurs. Si le lecteur considère un message comme offensant, il doit déposer une plainte auprès du modérateur du forum concerné. La plainte devrait être traitée dans un délai de 24 heures. Cependant, veuillez prendre en considération le fait que le modérateur puisse se trouver dans un fuseau horaire différent. L'utilisation des forums implique votre acceptation des règles relatives à la publication sur les forums.