Home Home Home
Home
Translation Jobs
Απόκρυψη πινάκων
Μέλη Συνδεδεμένα

Όνομα χρήστη

Κωδικός πρόσβασης
Πατήστε για βοήθεια
Επιλέξτε Γλώσσα Εμφάνισης
ELΕλληνικά
ENEnglish
Τα Φόρουμ
Αυτή τη στιγμή κάνετε πλοήγηση σαν επισκέπτης. Παρακαλούμε συνδεθείτε για να δείτε επιπλέον πληροφορίες.
Συντονιστές
Nikita Kobrin
Message format
Thread information
Last Activity November 15, 2009 1:08 PM

7 replies
995 viewings

Αναζήτηση στον Ιστότοπο
Notification

Toggle e-mail notification

XML RSS Feed
Recommend Us
stumbleupon|digg|del.icio.us|reddit|facebook
Legend
Posted Messages:
5000 5000
2000 2000
1000 1000
500 500
100 100
25 25
Colour Coding:
  • Administrator
  • Forum Moderator
  • Registered User
Translators Participating in Translation of TranslatorsCafe.com
La religión nunca debe olvidarse porque entonces los pecados perderían su gracia.Reynaldo Arenas
Σελίδα: 1
Επιστροφή Reply
« Συνειρμοί »
Posted:
January 5, 2009 5:43 PM
Post #166191
Anatoly Zolotkov
Photo
Mother tongue: Russian
Joined: August 1, 2002
Location: Canada
 
Cybersquatters

Click TranslatorsCafe.org and you will see.

Cybersquatting (also known as domain squatting), according to the United States federal law known as the Anticybersquatting Consumer Protection Act, is registering, trafficking in, or using a domain name with bad faith intent to profit from the goodwill of a trademark belonging to someone else. The cybersquatter then offers to sell the domain to the person or company who owns a trademark contained within the name at an inflated price. (From Wikipedia).

 

(http://whois.domaintools.com/translatorscafe.org)

Hall of Fame and Shame record about the registrant of this domain name

Anatoly



[Edited by Anatoly Zolotkov on January 5, 2009 6:37 PM]

Attached file : Untitled-3.gif (35 KB - 312 downloads)

Reply|Quote|Edit
Posted:
January 6, 2009 3:51 AM
Post #166213—in reply to #166191
Laurent J Krauland
TC Master
Photo
Mother tongues: German, French
Joined: August 9, 2007
Location: France
 
RE: Cybersquatters
Hello, Anatoly.

I hardly cannot think that the owner of more than 31 domain names [*] (... I have enough with 2!) being also the owner of a "multi-location" - Germany, United Kingdom, China - and blacklisted translation agency is more than a mere coincidence.

Thanks for revealing us these facts, at least we now know that we are not only dealing with a bad payer, but also and generally speaking with a person whose bad faith goes through and through!

Laurent K. 

PS: did you also notice that one of his domain names is "xxxxx-CON.com", in this case the name tells it all .

[*] among those some curiously dealing with the translation industry and cloning the layout and/or the name of TC...


[Edited by Laurent J Krauland on January 6, 2009 5:09 AM]

Reply|Quote|Edit|Delete
Posted:
January 6, 2009 8:12 AM
Post #166235—in reply to #166191
dominique f.
Photo
Mother tongue: French
Joined: October 31, 2004
Location: France
 
RE: Cybersquatters
Originally written by Anatoly Zolotkov on January 5, 2009 11:43 PM

Click TranslatorsCafe.org and you will see.

Cybersquatting (also known as domain squatting), according to the United States federal law known as the Anticybersquatting Consumer Protection Act, is registering, trafficking in, or using a domain name with bad faith intent to profit from the goodwill of a trademark belonging to someone else. The cybersquatter then offers to sell the domain to the person or company who owns a trademark contained within the name at an inflated price. (From Wikipedia).

Hall of Fame and Shame record about the registrant of this domain name

Anatoly

Hi Anatoly

I don't understand (but then I'm rather illiterate when it comes to understanding how the WWW actually works!)... how can this guy legally use the same name (albeit with an .org rather than .com suffix)? Surely you've registered it as your own? And can such people be stopped??

Happy New Year, Anatoly! And thank you for keeping up with TC where many of us feel very much at home.

dominique (bumping up this thread to update exposure)


Reply|Quote|Edit|Delete
Posted:
January 6, 2009 8:56 AM
Post #166238—in reply to #166235
Anatoly Zolotkov
Photo
Mother tongue: Russian
Joined: August 1, 2002
Location: Canada
 
RE: Cybersquatters

Hi Dominique,

Thank you. It is legal. It is called "business". When I started this site, I was supposed to purchase all possible domain names like translatorscafe.ca, translatorscafe.biz, translatorscafe.ogr, etc. I preferred to do development instead. And I am not in a position to start feeding lawyers or to spend my own time on preparing the necessary documents for ICANN to take this domain name back from the sybersquatters. I made this posting because several outsourcers filed complaints explaining that they posted jobs on TC and soon started getting messages about those jobs from users of TranslatorPub.com (also TranslatorsPub.com). In their complaints they demanded to do something about it. This posting is my response to their complaints.

Anatoly



[Edited by Anatoly Zolotkov on June 17, 2009 2:02 PM]

Reply|Quote|Edit|Delete
Posted:
January 6, 2009 10:11 AM
Post #166247—in reply to #166238
dominique f.
Photo
Mother tongue: French
Joined: October 31, 2004
Location: France
 
RE: Cybersquatters

thanks for your explanations Anatoly, now I understand a little better. So in addition to stealing the name, the man also steals content from this site and its users, if I understand right! Is there anything we (TC members and visitors) can do about it, aside from spreading the word about this guy and his site and just hoping that "what goes around, comes around" and that "we reap what we sow"?

df



[Edited by dominique f. on January 6, 2009 10:13 AM]

Reply|Quote|Edit|Delete
Posted:
September 26, 2009 9:18 AM
Post #185527—in reply to #166238
Jane Lamb-Ruiz
TC Master
Photo
Mother tongue: English
Joined: November 2, 2002
Location: United States
 
RE: Cybersquatters

Hello Anatoly,

I am still not getting it. Does this mean that if a site registers one name (A) with Dot Com (AName.com) , and another with your name (YourName.biz) under a Dot Something that you did not register, the queries to the AName.Dot Com also go to the YourName.biz or whatever comes after the Dot? That is outrageous.

Well, that's terrible. Anyway, I'd happy to volunteer to do the paperwork for you. Just point me in the right direction.

Thanks for this notice.

 

Jane


Reply|Quote|Edit|Delete
Posted:
September 26, 2009 9:39 AM
Post #185530—in reply to #185527
Anatoly Zolotkov
Photo
Mother tongue: Russian
Joined: August 1, 2002
Location: Canada
 
RE: Cybersquatters

Hi Jane,

Thank you. No, queries are not redirected. However, when people make mistakes and write translatorscafe.eu (check, this is also working) or translatorscafe.org instead of translatorscafe.com in the address line of the browser, they will be redirected to the cybersquatter’s site.

Anatoly


Reply|Quote|Edit|Delete
Posted:
September 26, 2009 11:02 AM
Post #185533—in reply to #166191
Harry Bornemann
TC Master
Photo
Elite Veteran
50010010010025
Mother tongue: German
Posts: 843
Joined: December 31, 2002
Location: Mexico
 
RE: Cybersquatters

Hi Anatoly,

Besides being angry, don't you feel a little bit flattered?  He could also have chosen from many available proz.xxy domains..

I remember when Henry called you - among others - a "copy cat", although you always differed by:
- your layout,
- your site name, and
- the much appreciated fact that free speech has never been a taboo here. 

This plagiarist just went one or two steps further, but I agree that he went too far.  According to German law he could be prosecuted at the moment, but he would only have to change some details to get back to the legal side (which would not save him from having to pay a fine of some thousand EUR, though).

Anyway, I am in Germany (Bonn) until end of October and will be happy to help you where I can.

Harry

BTW, a simpler and more productive way to exert pressure could be to coordinate all of the open payment claims registered here and elsewhere against that company.. 



[Edited by Harry Bornemann on September 26, 2009 11:32 AM]

Reply|Quote|Edit|Delete
Σελίδα: 1
Επιστροφή Reply
« Συνειρμοί »
Home | Τα Φόρουμ | Τα Άλμπουμ | Αναζήτηση
Πρόσφατοι Συνειρμοί | Σήμερα | Αυτή την εβδομάδα | Top 25
Στατιστικά Φόρουμ | Ποιος είναι συνδεδεμένος | Random Quotes
New TC Mobile | Ρυθμίσεις Φόρουμ | Σύνδεση
TranslatorsCafé.com

Επιλέξτε Γλώσσα Εμφάνισης English | Español | Άλλες γλώσσες

Πνευματικά δικαιώματα © 2002—2009 ANVICA Software Development. Με την επιφύλαξη παντός δικαιώματος.
Προστασία Προσωπικών Δεδομένων. Όροι και Συνθήκες Χρήσης. Η χρήση υποδηλώνει συγκατάθεση.
Στείλτε σχόλια και προτάσεις στο TranslatorsCafe.com webmaster
Κατάλογος μεταφραστών, διερμηνέων και μεταφραστικών εταιριών.

Forums Disclaimer: The views expressed in the forums are those of the authors and are not necessarily the views of the site owner and/or moderators. If the reader considers a post to cause offence, then she or he should address a complaint to the moderator of the forum concerned. The complaint should be dealt with within 24 hours, but please respect the fact that the moderator may be living in a different time zone. Use of the forums signifies your agreement with the Forum Posting Rules.