Home Home Home
Home
Translation Jobs
Slėpti skydelius
Prisijungti

Vartotojo vardas

Slaptažodis
Spustelėkite, jeigu reikia pagalbos
Pasirinkti svetainės kalbą
LTLietuvių
ENEnglish
Forumai
Šiuo metu naršote svečio teisėmis. Prašome prisijungti, jei norite pamatyti daugiau.
Moderatoriai
Nikita Kobrin
Žinutės formatas
Apie giją:
Naujausia žinutė November 23, 2009 4:47 PM

7 atsakymai
1020 apsilankymai

Ieškoti svetainėje
Pranešimai

Pakeisti

XML RSS Feed
Rekomenduokite mus
stumbleupon|digg|del.icio.us|reddit|facebook
Sutartiniai žymėjimai
Paskelbta žinučių:
5000 5000
2000 2000
1000 1000
500 500
100 100
25 25
Spalvinis kodas:
  • Administratorius
  • Forumo moderatorius
  • Registruotas vartotojas
J'ai cinquante ans. Elle en a vingt-cinq. C'est normal qu'elle soit ma moitié.Sacha Guitry
Puslapis: 1
Atgal Atsakyti
Paskelbta:
January 5, 2009 5:43 PM
Žinutė #166191
Anatoly Zolotkov
Photo
Gimtoji kalba Russian
Įstojo August 1, 2002
Šalis: Canada
 
Cybersquatters

Click TranslatorsCafe.org and you will see.

Cybersquatting (also known as domain squatting), according to the United States federal law known as the Anticybersquatting Consumer Protection Act, is registering, trafficking in, or using a domain name with bad faith intent to profit from the goodwill of a trademark belonging to someone else. The cybersquatter then offers to sell the domain to the person or company who owns a trademark contained within the name at an inflated price. (From Wikipedia).

 

(http://whois.domaintools.com/translatorscafe.org)

Hall of Fame and Shame record about the registrant of this domain name

Anatoly



[Redagavo Anatoly Zolotkov January 5, 2009 6:37 PM]

Pridėtas failas: Untitled-3.gif (35 KB - 317 parsisiuntimai)

Atsakyti|Cituoti|Redaguoti
Paskelbta:
January 6, 2009 3:51 AM
Žinutė #166213—į #166191
Laurent J Krauland
TC tikrasis narys
Photo
Gimtosios kalbos: German, French
Įstojo August 9, 2007
Šalis: France
 
RE: Cybersquatters
Hello, Anatoly.

I hardly cannot think that the owner of more than 31 domain names [*] (... I have enough with 2!) being also the owner of a "multi-location" - Germany, United Kingdom, China - and blacklisted translation agency is more than a mere coincidence.

Thanks for revealing us these facts, at least we now know that we are not only dealing with a bad payer, but also and generally speaking with a person whose bad faith goes through and through!

Laurent K. 

PS: did you also notice that one of his domain names is "xxxxx-CON.com", in this case the name tells it all .

[*] among those some curiously dealing with the translation industry and cloning the layout and/or the name of TC...


[Redagavo Laurent J Krauland January 6, 2009 5:09 AM]

Atsakyti|Cituoti|Redaguoti|Ištrinti
Paskelbta:
January 6, 2009 8:12 AM
Žinutė #166235—į #166191
dominique f.
Photo
Gimtoji kalba French
Įstojo October 31, 2004
Šalis: France
 
RE: Cybersquatters
Originally written by Anatoly Zolotkov on January 5, 2009 11:43 PM

Click TranslatorsCafe.org and you will see.

Cybersquatting (also known as domain squatting), according to the United States federal law known as the Anticybersquatting Consumer Protection Act, is registering, trafficking in, or using a domain name with bad faith intent to profit from the goodwill of a trademark belonging to someone else. The cybersquatter then offers to sell the domain to the person or company who owns a trademark contained within the name at an inflated price. (From Wikipedia).

Hall of Fame and Shame record about the registrant of this domain name

Anatoly

Hi Anatoly

I don't understand (but then I'm rather illiterate when it comes to understanding how the WWW actually works!)... how can this guy legally use the same name (albeit with an .org rather than .com suffix)? Surely you've registered it as your own? And can such people be stopped??

Happy New Year, Anatoly! And thank you for keeping up with TC where many of us feel very much at home.

dominique (bumping up this thread to update exposure)


Atsakyti|Cituoti|Redaguoti|Ištrinti
Paskelbta:
January 6, 2009 8:56 AM
Žinutė #166238—į #166235
Anatoly Zolotkov
Photo
Gimtoji kalba Russian
Įstojo August 1, 2002
Šalis: Canada
 
RE: Cybersquatters

Hi Dominique,

Thank you. It is legal. It is called "business". When I started this site, I was supposed to purchase all possible domain names like translatorscafe.ca, translatorscafe.biz, translatorscafe.ogr, etc. I preferred to do development instead. And I am not in a position to start feeding lawyers or to spend my own time on preparing the necessary documents for ICANN to take this domain name back from the sybersquatters. I made this posting because several outsourcers filed complaints explaining that they posted jobs on TC and soon started getting messages about those jobs from users of TranslatorPub.com (also TranslatorsPub.com). In their complaints they demanded to do something about it. This posting is my response to their complaints.

Anatoly



[Redagavo Anatoly Zolotkov June 17, 2009 2:02 PM]

Atsakyti|Cituoti|Redaguoti|Ištrinti
Paskelbta:
January 6, 2009 10:11 AM
Žinutė #166247—į #166238
dominique f.
Photo
Gimtoji kalba French
Įstojo October 31, 2004
Šalis: France
 
RE: Cybersquatters

thanks for your explanations Anatoly, now I understand a little better. So in addition to stealing the name, the man also steals content from this site and its users, if I understand right! Is there anything we (TC members and visitors) can do about it, aside from spreading the word about this guy and his site and just hoping that "what goes around, comes around" and that "we reap what we sow"?

df



[Redagavo dominique f. January 6, 2009 10:13 AM]

Atsakyti|Cituoti|Redaguoti|Ištrinti
Paskelbta:
September 26, 2009 9:18 AM
Žinutė #185527—į #166238
Jane Lamb-Ruiz
TC tikrasis narys
Photo
Gimtoji kalba English
Įstojo November 2, 2002
Šalis: United States
 
RE: Cybersquatters

Hello Anatoly,

I am still not getting it. Does this mean that if a site registers one name (A) with Dot Com (AName.com) , and another with your name (YourName.biz) under a Dot Something that you did not register, the queries to the AName.Dot Com also go to the YourName.biz or whatever comes after the Dot? That is outrageous.

Well, that's terrible. Anyway, I'd happy to volunteer to do the paperwork for you. Just point me in the right direction.

Thanks for this notice.

 

Jane


Atsakyti|Cituoti|Redaguoti|Ištrinti
Paskelbta:
September 26, 2009 9:39 AM
Žinutė #185530—į #185527
Anatoly Zolotkov
Photo
Gimtoji kalba Russian
Įstojo August 1, 2002
Šalis: Canada
 
RE: Cybersquatters

Hi Jane,

Thank you. No, queries are not redirected. However, when people make mistakes and write translatorscafe.eu (check, this is also working) or translatorscafe.org instead of translatorscafe.com in the address line of the browser, they will be redirected to the cybersquatter’s site.

Anatoly


Atsakyti|Cituoti|Redaguoti|Ištrinti
Paskelbta:
September 26, 2009 11:02 AM
Žinutė #185533—į #166191
Harry Bornemann
TC tikrasis narys
Photo
Elite Veteran
50010010010025
Gimtoji kalba German
Žinutės: 848
Įstojo December 31, 2002
Šalis: Mexico
 
RE: Cybersquatters

Hi Anatoly,

Besides being angry, don't you feel a little bit flattered?  He could also have chosen from many available proz.xxy domains..

I remember when Henry called you - among others - a "copy cat", although you always differed by:
- your layout,
- your site name, and
- the much appreciated fact that free speech has never been a taboo here. 

This plagiarist just went one or two steps further, but I agree that he went too far.  According to German law he could be prosecuted at the moment, but he would only have to change some details to get back to the legal side (which would not save him from having to pay a fine of some thousand EUR, though).

Anyway, I am in Germany (Bonn) until end of October and will be happy to help you where I can.

Harry

BTW, a simpler and more productive way to exert pressure could be to coordinate all of the open payment claims registered here and elsewhere against that company.. 



[Redagavo Harry Bornemann September 26, 2009 11:32 AM]

Atsakyti|Cituoti|Redaguoti|Ištrinti
Puslapis: 1
Atgal Atsakyti
Pagrindinis | Forumai | Albumai | Paieška
Naujausios gijos | Šiandien | Šią savaitę | 25 populiariausios
Forumų statistika | Kas prisijungė | Įvairios citatos
New Mobili TC | Forumų nustatymai | Prisijungti
TranslatorsCafé.com

Pasirinkti svetainės kalbą English | Español | Kitos kalbos

Autoriaus teisės © ANVICA Software Development 2002—2009. Visos teisės saugomos.
Privatumo užtikrinimas. Vartojimo taisyklės ir sąlygos. Vartodami įsipareigojate laikytis taisyklių.
Savo pastabas ir pasiūlymus siųskite TranslatorsCafe.com administratoriui
Vertėjų raštu, vertėjų žodžiu ir vertimų biurų žinynas.

Forumų išlyga: Forumuose išreiškiamos pažiūros yra autorių pažiūros, kurios nebūtinai sutampa su svetainės savininko ir/arba moderatorių nuomone. Jei manote, kad kažkoks pranešimas įžeidžiantis, turėtumėte pasiskųsti to forumo moderatoriui. Skundai išnagrinėjami per 24 valandas, bet prašome neužmiršti, kad moderatorius gali gyventi kitoje laiko juostoje. Dalyvaudami forumuose įsipareigojate laikytis Elgesio forumuose taisyklių.